Skip to content

You See Me?

March 19, 2012

This poem was written in response to all the media nonsense of “Disabled person occasionally does something”. Yes, we do. You don’t notice the rest.

You See Me

You see me
Wandering around the supermarket.

You don’t see me
Glued to the spot, unable to decide which way to go.

You see me
Bouncing down the steps of the doctors.

You don’t see me
Frozen to the sofa, not daring to move.

You see me
Taking photographs in a museum.

You don’t see me
Cowering in the corner because of the noise.

You see me
Enjoying evening classes.

You don’t see me
Terrified of the traffic on the way home.

I know I have a lot fewer problems in the outside world than some disabled people, but I can’t speak for anyone else so I’ve kept to my own experiences. If anyone would like to add a verse or two based on how their life runs, that would be good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 00:57

    Dude, this is you and this is also me. I’m glad you wrote this and I was here to discover it.

Trackbacks

  1. All Too Familiar « The Wandering Monster

Leave a comment