Skip to content

Ignoring George Lucas

January 1, 2011

I never thought of George Lucas being part of the kyriachy. Until this morning, I probably never thought “George Lucas” and “kyriachy” in the same sentence. But there’s a quote that’s been rattling around my head for a couple of days, ever since re-reading Anger on Anger is Justified.

Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.

That line has been embedded in my head for 11 years. Half my life. This morning I looked at it and said “that is a lie”.

This afternoon I realised it was the truth.

Oppression is all about fear. Fear of what the privileged class could do to you. And, justifiably (see what I did there, JKBC?), the oppressed express their anger to the privileged. The privileged do not like their privilege pointed out to them, so hate the oppressed people that bring attention to it, and make them suffer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 19:51

    And then everybody suffers, because kyriarchy hurts everyone. And it’s so hard to break the cycle, and so hard to find a place where the anger needed to fight for what is ‘right’ (it’s odd, in books I hate the idea of an ultimate ‘right’ and ‘wrong,’ but IRL I will use the terminology because it’s the best I have) is in control of the anger that consumes and turns to hatred.

Leave a Reply

